When Are the NHL Playoffs?

Find out when the NHL playoffs are so you can start planning your viewing schedule.

Checkout this video:

What are the NHL playoffs?

The National Hockey League (NHL) playoffs are a best-of-seven elimination tournament among 16 teams that qualified for the playoffs. eight teams from each of the two conferences compete in four rounds of best-of-seven series to determine which team will advance to the Stanley Cup Finals, and ultimately win the Stanley Cup.

When are the NHL playoffs?

The NHL playoffs are an annual tournament held after the conclusion of the regular season to determine the Stanley Cup champion. The playoffs began on April 11 and will conclude in June with the Stanley Cup Final.

How do teams qualify for the NHL playoffs?

In order to be eligible for the Stanley Cup Playoffs, a team must:
– Finish the regular season with a .500 or better record (82 games)
– Win one of the following:
– their division,
– have the best record in their conference (if they did not win their division), or
– have one of the two best records in the NHL (if neither their conference)

If there are fewer than 16 teams with .500 or better records at the end of the regular season, then:
1. The top three teams in each division make up the first 12 teams in the playoffs.
2. The two remaining teams with the next best records in each conference earn playoff berths regardless of division ranking.

What is the playoff format?

During the Stanley Cup Playoffs, each team plays best-of-seven games. The first team to win four games moves on to the next round, while the losing team is eliminated from the playoffs.

The playoff format has been in place since 1987, when the NHL switched from best-of-five game series in the first two rounds to best-of-seven.

How many teams make the playoffs?

In order for a team to make it into the playoffs, they first have to finish the regular season in one of the top three spots in their division. From there, the top two teams in each division face off against each other in the first round of the playoffs. These are called the divisional semifinals. The two winners of those move on to play each other in the divisional finals.

What is the seeding process?

The National Hockey League (NHL) playoff seeding process is a set of rules and regulations that are used to determine which teams will qualify for the playoffs, and how these teams will be ranked. The NHL playoffs are a best-of-seven tournament that occurs after the regular season.

The seeding process begins with the NHL regular season, which is a 82-game schedule where teams play each other team in their conference an equal number of times. At the end of the regular season, the team with the most points in each conference is awarded the Presidents’ Trophy.

The 16 teams that qualify for the playoffs are seeded according to their regular season record. The top three seeds in each conference automatically qualify for the playoffs, while the two remaining spots are Wild Card berths and are filled by the next two teams in each conference with the best records, regardless of divisional alignment.

Once the playoff field is set, the first two rounds matchup teams within their respective conferences. In the first round, also known as the Conference Quarterfinals, the 1st seed plays against the 8th seed, while 2nd play 7th and so on. The four winners of those series then proceed to play each other in what is known as

How is home-ice advantage determined?

NHL playoff seeding is determined by regular-season points. The team with the most points in the league earns the Presidents’ Trophy and the top seed in their conference. The next nine teams in each conference (based on regular-season points) earn a playoff berth.

What happens if two teams are tied at the end of the regular season?

The National Hockey League (NHL) playoffs are a best-of-seven elimination tournament held after the conclusion of the regular season to determine the winner of the Stanley Cup, the oldest professional ice hockey club championship in the world.

If two teams are tied at the end of the regular season, the following tiebreakers are used to determine which team receives the higher seed:

-The team with more wins
-The team with more points in the standings
-If the two teams are still tied, a series of head-to-head games are played until one team wins more games than the other

How long do the playoffs last?

Playoff hockey is some of the most exciting sports you can watch. Two teams go head-to-head in a best-of-seven series with the winner advancing to the next round. The Stanley Cup playoffs usually start in mid-April and can last until early June.

What is the Stanley Cup?

The Stanley Cup is the most coveted prize in professional hockey. It is awarded to the team that wins the National Hockey League’s (NHL) championship series. The playoffs are a best-of-seven tournament that begins in mid-April and can last into early June.

The Stanley Cup was first presented in 1893 and is named after Lord Stanley of Preston, who was the Governor General of Canada at the time. The Cup was originally a silver punch bowl that was purchased by Lord Stanley for 10 guineas (a little over $50 in today’s money). Today, the Stanley Cup is made of silver and gold and stands 3 feet tall. It weighs 34 pounds and is inscribed with the names of all of the players, coaches, and management personnel who have been part of a winning team.

Only 53 teams have ever won the Stanley Cup, with the Montreal Canadiens being the most successful team with 24 wins. The most recent team to win the Stanley Cup are the St. Louis Blues, who won in 2019.

Scroll to Top